A hero. I bet you can picture it in your mind right now. To me he looks like Hercules. Hes strong, hunky and even kind at heart. Of course he will do anything to save his love. But also this is one test I’ve taken many times. I know its basically the wrong answer to give a hero a physical description but I cant help it! Its what comes to mind.

 

Many people have had the chance to identify their personal hero. Someone who has saved them and motivates them to do more, to become someone they were meant to be. A hero serves you so you can serve others.

 

My hero is my brother. Hes overcome so much and still is the most positive person I know. He never settles for average. He was valedictorian of his class by the sole fact he wanted the grades to become a doctor. When he was young, he was in and out of the hospital and his hero was his doctor and now he is going to become that to some other little boy.

 

A doctor. The epitome of someone out to serve others. A singer. An entertainer?

 

How can I use my passion to serve others?

 

Life on the stage can give one a large ego and an obsession with how he or she looks. Honestly, I became a singer for this very reason. I was in choir because I had to be….my sister joined for fun and she was my ride to school. I tried out for the school musical for the very same reason. I made so many friends in the musical and they told me I should try out for Triple Trio. I didn’t even like to sing. I liked to play volleyball. But I tried out because I wanted to see what they thought of me. When I made it as the only freshman, I had a huugggee ego boost. I was brought down very quickly when I kept trying out for solos and competitions and never getting the part. It really made me question why am I doing this?

 

I practiced constantly. I wanted people to think I was good again. Well I finally got the solos but only till then did I really realize why I was doing this. People would approach me and tell me how my performance gave them goosebumps or even brought them to tears. I had my mother’s friends tell me I made their day. It was something small but I wanted to do more of it.

 

Does this make me a hero? I’m waiting to find out. Its my mentality that has changed. I don’t perform for myself but others. I received a letter recently from a freshman girl I mentored in choir as a senior. She told me how the sound of my voice made her day and how she wanted to be like me as a senior in choir. That simple letter justified everything I had worked for.